IDLY Vilas – Chennai


My friend who was living in my old neighbourhood of Chennai (Gopalapuram) casually told me that he had a great dinner at Idly vilas at R.K  Salai opposite to Hotel Savera and i immediately poked him. On his insistence i tried to have a meal on a weekend. Idly vilas came into being on a place vacated by some north indian restaurant and he fore warned that you will expect rush and there was a waiting list. The crowd resembled that most were repeat customers and it has gained royalty very soon.

I went through the menu written on the black board and as expected it stretched from Guntur IDLI known for its spiciness to Guruvayur pal payasam. The dosa varieties were ragi, kambu, cholam in addition to regular ones. The added some local flavoured  chappati which i don’t remember now. Parattha was good and finishing with pal payasam is recommended. You can also get 1 litre packed for 250 bucks. But what i expected was ada pravanam which my mother used to do with some stuff made by bambinoos which was bought in Kerala during our visits.

For many people it would be normal to eat these but it is highly recommended for foodies who eat outside on sundays. The price is also affordable and guys have a try.

About sudhans

Quizzy mind

Posted on July 26, 2012, in Health and wellness and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Nice… I have heard but never been to this place. Shall go soon

  2. Best Place to Eat, I always recommand my frined and relatives to try once, when ever we speak about Food, my mind strike Idlly Vilas. People who like south indian food, my best suggestion is to visit Idly Vilas.

Leave a comment